Author Guest Post: A Whispered Darkness by Vanessa Barger

A-Whispered-Darkness-Banner

Title: A Whispered Darkness

Publication date: August 26, 2014

Publisher: Month9Books, LLC.

Author: Vanessa Barger

A-Whispered-Darkness-CoverWhen Claire Mallory’s father leaves, her mom moves them to a new town and into a dilapidated Victorian house.The old house creaks and whistles, and smells well — like it’s been abandoned for years. But as the nights grow longer and the shadows take on substance, Claire wonders if the strange sounds and occurrences might be more than the house showing its age.Just as things start to pick up in Claire’s love life, her mother becomes possessed. In an attempt to save her mother and their new home, Claire enlists the help of two boys, each of whom is interested in Claire for different reasons. As she chooses one boy over the other, something dangerous is unleashed, and the spirits make their move.They aren’t content to moan and scream inside Claire’s house, or even control her mom. They want a taste of freedom, and she’s their key to getting it. But is Claire strong enough to fight off the evil spirits, or will they claim her and her mom before it’s all over?

So y’all know A Whispered Darkness also includes a little twist of YA horror…and the easiest way I can personally connect with scary stuff is…well, horror movies. But what are actually the author’s own thoughts on such movies? Vanessa Barger was kind enough to answer this question in this post — and guys, be prepared to fall off your chairs because the post is HILARIOUS!Banner (2)

Okay, so I have a confession. My name is Vanessa Barger, I write YA Horror (and other things), and I’m terrified of scary movies.

No, really. It’s kind of stupid really. I’m…well… let’s leave off the age, but suffice to say, I’m old enough to know that Dracula does not live in my closet with the other monsters. But horror movies… I have this strange and weird fascination with. I don’t like slasher flicks. At all. If there’s a lot of shock and gore, I won’t watch. The Saw movies? Nu-uh. No way.

Of course, I will admit to turning Nightmare on Elm Street on a few months ago. Bits at a time. When I thought something scary was coming, I flipped it back to the Food Network.

Probably the scariest thing I’ve ever seen was The Ring. Some of you are probably snickering. Let me explain – I think the Ring (if you haven’t seen it, watch out. Spoilers! Lol) bothers me because when I was a kid there was a ghost story told at a sleepover once about a possessed cassette tape that killed people. I don’t remember the details anymore. It was probably a really bad retelling in the dark with flashlights while people’s training bras were being soaked and shoved in a freezer. But I remember it scaring the crap out of me.

Then in college a group of us head to the movies. It’s a Saturday in a big theatre in Northern Virginia. There are a LOT of people. We get in the long line, and four of them are headed to the Ring. Me and another girl are planning on seeing Bond. We don’t do horror flicks. Halfway up, Bond sells out, along with everything except The Ring and some other adventure flick.

We decide on the adventure flick. The person in front of us buys the last two tickets.

We are now stuck seeing The Ring with everyone else, or sitting and waiting in the lobby. Not a fun prospect.

The movie itself has a decent plot. I liked the mystery aspect. Then they talk about watching a movie and dying in seven days. Somewhere that sleepover memory is triggered. And a friend shared her coat with me, so I could hold it in front of my face for the scary parts. Except one. The big one. The ghost pops out of a TV after seven days to kill the main character.

Oh, crap.

So there I am, seven days later, asleep on my aunt’s couch for Thanksgiving, watching the minute hand creep along in the dark and staring at a blank TV screen. I just kept repeating that if I made it past midnight and she didn’t pass out, I’d be safe.

As you can see, I’m safe.

I’ve gotten better about watching horror flicks. Like my tolerance for spicy food, I’m working on it. But I’m never going to be able to watch them all the time. I’d never sleep.

To me, what makes a horror flick good is its ability not so much to scare you in that moment, but its ability to scare you later. You know, hours later when you’re home, not thinking about it and you get into bed. Suddenly it’s dark and there’s a creak, and you remember the movie and shadows begin to look sinister and you see teeth gleaming in the dark.

That’s what I’m going for. If I can scare myself a little when writing it, I’m hoping you are scared a little when reading it, and a little more later, when you’ve put the book down and are settling in for the night.

I hope you enjoy it. And if you have a horror movie you think I must, MUST see, feel free to let me know. But no promises. 😉

Banner (2)

Giveaway Information:  Winner will be drawn September 26, 2014

· Four (4) winners will receive a digital copy of A Whispered Darkness by Vanessa Barger (INT) · One (1) winner will receive a digital copy of A Whispered Darkness by Vanessa Barger AND a $10 Amazon Gift Card or B&N Gift Card – Winner’s Choice (INT)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

AboutTheAuthor

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAVanessa Barger was born in West Virginia, and through several moves ended up spending the majority of her life in Virginia Beach, Virginia. She is a graduate of George Mason University and Old Dominion University, and has degrees in Graphic Design, a minor in Medieval and Renaissance Literature, and a Masters in Technology Education. She has had articles published in Altered Arts Magazine, has had some artwork displayed in galleries in Ohio and online, and currently teaches engineering, practical physics, drafting and other technological things to high school students in the Hampton Roads area of Virginia. She is a member of the SCBWI (Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators) and the Virginia Writer’s Club. When not writing or teaching, she’s a bookaholic, movie fanatic, and loves to travel. She has one cat, who believes Vanessa lives only to open cat food cans, and can often be found baking when she should be editing. Author Links:  Website | Twitter | Facebook Goodreads
2 thoughts on “Author Guest Post: A Whispered Darkness by Vanessa Barger

speak your mind!

