Guest Post: Fragile Destiny by Suzanne Lazear

I’m so excited to be part of the Fragile Destiny Blog Tour today! Fragile Destiny is the third book in the Aether Chronicles by the amazing Suzanne Lazear and I’m beyond thrilled to be hosting her here on my blog today. I remember sitting exactly in the same roofed wicker beach chair I’m sitting right now almost exact on the date two years ago, devouring Innocent Darkness (the first book in the series) and just being totally blown off by the Steampunk world she created. It was actually one of the very first Steampunk novels I ever read and I was simply amazed by Suzanne’s writing. But anyway, before I start getting more  nostalgic, here’s a little bit more about Fragile Destiny:

FDFragile Destiny, Book 3, The Aether Chronicles Releases 8-8-14 from FluxBroken into pieces and hidden in the mortal realm long ago, the Staff of Eris bestows vast powers on whoever possesses it. King Brogan, V’s treacherous uncle, is trying to rebuild the staff. If he succeeds, the consequences for the Otherworld will be dire.In a desperate effort to keep the Otherworld safe, Noli and V plot the daring theft of a jewel that is needed to complete the staff. But Brogan is not so easily defeated. When he and Noli finally come face to face, the balance of power shifts, and Noli must consider joining forces with an unlikely ally in order to save the Otherworld.

10323060_10204384012389910_128548823_n

Suzanne’s Guest Post

The Music of FRAGILE DESTINY Music has always been an important part of my life. I play several musical instruments. I compose a little (though nothing fancy.) I’m always humming and dancing around. It’s only natural that music leaks into my books. For example, my main character, Noli, plays the piano, though it’s never brought up much. It’s not crucial to the story, but it’s something she does, just like many girls of the time. “Do you still play the piano?” Vivian added. “I remember always being jealous that you were so much better than me.” “Were you now?” Noli hadn’t had lessons in years. I also like to make playlists for my stories. These playlists feature songs I think represent characters, scenes, or even the book of the book. FRAGILE DESTINY has a lot of love and kissing; I like to joke that this is “the book where everyone gets some.” However, there’s also a heck of a lot of change going on in this book. Lots of coming to terms with the end of one chapter of one’s life and the beginning of a new one (even more so than in book 2). Characters have to grapple not only with rough choices but the consequences of their actions and I hope I captured some of that in this list. Here’s my playlist for FRAGILE DESTINY:

  1. Vindicated by Dashboard Confessional
  2. Memory by Sugarcult
  3. It Ends Tonight by All-American Rejects
  4. It’s Time by Imagine Dragons
  5. Gone, Gone, Gone by Phillip Phillips
  6. Angels of the Silences by Counting Crows
  7. Iris by the Goo Goo Dolls
  8. Carry on by Fun
  9. Demons by Imagine Dragons
  10. Praise Chorus by Jimmy Eat World
  11. All for Love by Serena Ryder
  12. Sweater Weather by The Neighbourhood
  13. Breaking the Habit by Linkin Park
  14. You’re Gonna Go Far Kid by the Offspring

Can you guess what songs go with which characters and scenes? I try very hard not to repeat songs on book playlists and there’s a lot of crossover (Fun’s Some Nights is Kevighn’s anthem for the entire series). However, I had to include Iris by the Goo Goo Dolls. This is such a beautiful, romantic song and I think it goes perfectly with a particular scene that I’ve been waiting three books to write (and I know you’ve been waiting for it, too.) I hope you enjoy this playlist. What songs would you include? ~Suzanne AboutTheAuthor SuzanneLazearSuzanne Lazear is the author of the YA steampunk fairytale series The Aether Chronicles. INNOCENT DARKNESS and CHARMED VENGEANCE are out now from Flux. FRAGILE DESTINY releases 8-8-14. For more information on the series visit www.aetherchronicles.com or www.suzannelazear.com Find Suzanne on Twitter | Facebook | Tumblr | Instagram 

Other Tour Stops:

Aug 5: Pageturners blog

Aug 6: The Attic Reviews 

Aug 7: Kate Tilton blog

Aug 8: Bookish Things And More 

Aug 9: Mundie Moms

Aug 10: Night Owl Reviews

Aug 11: Book Raptured 

Aug 12: Bitten By Books

Aug 13: Anonymous Interests  

Aug 14: Awesomesauce Book Club

Aug 15: Tizzy Potts 

2 thoughts on “Guest Post: Fragile Destiny by Suzanne Lazear

  1. This series sounds intriguing. I don’t know many of the songs here, but the fact that it has Iris by the Goo Goo Dolls on the book playlist makes me want to read it! 🙂

speak your mind!

