Book Haul [Summer Edition]: Why this book haul is so different from the other ones

wpid-wp-1399150062761.jpeg

Stacking The Shelves, hosted by Tynga’s Reviews, is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!

Summer holidays have finally started in Germany and I basically just feel super super excited! (No more waking up at 6.50 am for the next 6 weeks!) Anyways, right after the last day of school I begged my mom to buy me some new books because — what you gonna with your summer holidays without any good summer reads? Fortunately, she understands my love for books and agreed. 

So what exactly makes this book haul actually special?

Well, firstly, it’s so refreshing to read those books just out of my own pleasure, without the pressure to meet any review deadlines. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE reviewing books and I can’t appreciate the support I get from all the publishers enough since they make my work as a book blogger reach some certain kind of awesomeness. It definitely does not mean either that I didn’t enjoy the books I get for review; the feeling is just so completely different!

Also, you will notice that all books are either paperbacks or hardcovers. I recently realized that about 70% of all the books I’ve bought in the last 1,5 years are on my e-reader — with a rising trend. Maybe it’s because books in physical forms are all so expensive (without my parents’ support I definitely wouldn’t have been able to buy that stack of books below).
Maybe it’s because I’m just too impatient to wait for books to arrive in my local bookstore (you see, I’m a small town girl and my local bookstore is kind of lame which is why they always have to order most English books first).
Maybe I’m just too impatient to wait for books I’ve ordered on the internet to arrive at my house.
Maybe it’s because I live in Germany and most American publishers (or even those in the UK) don’t send out physical review copies which is why I end up getting those books on my Kindle.

The fact is, I miss holding books in my hand, staring at the cover or book jacket for hours, breathing in the scent of the freshly printed pages. Dana @ The Nerdy Journalist just wrote a clever post about falling back in love with hardcovers and I couldn’t agree more with her. Read her post because it’s awesome.

Anyways, I think I’ve said said enough now so let’s head over to the real topic of this post: My new books! And guess what, I got more than 10 (yes, you have read correctly: TEN!) books in total! image

Anna and The French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins (German edition)
Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
Endless Knight by Kresley Cole
Die Messertänzerin by Susanne Rauchhaus
We Were Liars by E. Lockhart
The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski
The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken
Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo (German edition)
Scarlet by Marissa Meyer (German edition)
Weibersommer by Heike Wanner (gifted)
The Scorch Trials & The Death Cure by James Dashner (The Maze Runners #1 + #2) (not pictured but I did buy them, ha!)

Yes, I know it’s kind of shocking I haven’t read Anna and The French Kiss, Fangirl or We Were Liars yet. Believe me, I do actually feel like the last person on earth to read those 3 books, but I’m trying to catch up with the hypes around them.
The Darkest Minds and The Winner’s Curse have been on my wish list for what feels like ages now so I’m really glad I can finally put my hands on those two books.
And before you start hitting me because Shadow and Bone as well as Scarlet are on the picture — ha, I’ve read those two books already but guess what? – I just wanted to get them as physical copies.

What about you? Do you feel different with reading books for review and books you just buy for yourself? Which books are on your summer reading list? Have you read any of those books shown above yet?(Well, you probably have.) Leave me the link to your own book haul!

5 thoughts on “Book Haul [Summer Edition]: Why this book haul is so different from the other ones

  1. Definitely. I’ve been reading books for review for the last few months, and I’ve forced myself in the next two months to put them on the back burner and read whatever *i* want to read because I’ve burnt myself out. I also found that reading ebooks all the time was exhausting somehow. Yes it is a beneficial format in some ways, but I much prefer the physical books.

    • YAY, that’s what I’m exactly planning to do so, too! It gets exhausting to read books for review all the time and I feel like I need some me time.
      And I totally know what you mean. It’s just not the same reading experience and reading physical book is way more fun!

  2. I love a lot of the books in your haul, so have fun reading them! Physical books I want to read always seem to come out ahead of the review books, which is actually the opposite problem for me. I’m trying to make myself stop requesting so many or read them right after I receive them. I’m trying to read more ebooks (once again, opposite!) but I really like physical books. I think it’s just a more fun reading experience.

    • Agreed! It’s definitely a more fun reading experience and I also always end up reading physical books faster than ebooks..somehow.
      And I can totally understand your ‘requesting too many review books’-problem. I’m dead set on stopping myself to request new review books too, because it’s slowly becoming too much for me. I want to write my reviews in a timely manner and not 4-6 weeks after I’ve received the book. Anyways, I really admire your physical books trend. I can only recommend you to keep up with it because it gets somewhat exhausting to read ebooks after a while.

  3. Great Books! 😀 i can honestly say that some of those books are my favorite books (EVER) Anna and the french kiss, We were liars and Fangirl! you cant go wrong with either of them.
    I can understand you with the E-books. i get a lot of books to review though my eBook and evenif i dont count those i still buy lots because i’m studying abroad and the ones they have here are in Spanish ( i rather read in English), but man when i go home… I get Book crazy and buy the whole book store. Hahah.

speak your mind!

