The Very Inspiring Blogger Award (YAY!)

I was totally caught off guard yesterday when Yvo from It’s All About Books nominated me for The Very Inspiring Blogger Award. And I was even more surprised when I found out that Lily from Mesmerized By Books mentioned me in her post as well. Eeeeep, I feel so super super SUPER excited! Thank you guys, you both totally made my day!

very-inspiring-blog-award

Here are the rules for this blogger award:

1. Thank and link the amazing person who nominated you.

2. List the rules and display the award.

3. Share seven facts about yourself.

4. Nominate 15 other amazing blogs and comment on their posts to let them know they have been nominated.

5. Optional: Proudly display the award logo on your blog and follow the blogger who nominated you.

Seven Random Facts About Me:

1. My favorite Disney animated movie is Tangled. I could watch it all day long and yet I wouldn’t be bored. I also like most Disney songs.

2. The only things I like more than books are food and sleeping. I’m serious. My perfect day would be something like waking up at 11.30 am, having something such as spaghetti or spring rolls or tomtato cream soup or even pancakes for lunch, reading reading READING until 7 pm, going for dinner, reading and just after that, going to bed (at 3 am). Oh, and while reading, I like to eat cupcakes. Or any kind of cake in each shape and form. And I like to drink tea (the British way with milk of course) or double chocolate cappucinos. But I guess you’ve already known that.

3. I’m a loser in sports. One word. Track. I’m dying.

4. I can speak five different languages: German, Mandarin, Cantonese (it’s a Chinese dialect), English and French. I was born in Germany but I also attended boarding school in the UK for some time in my life. I’m now back in Germany though.
Cantonese is actually my mother tongue since my parents are originally from China which is why I also learned to speak Mandarin.
I also understand a little bit of Luxembourgish as I spent a great deal of time there when I was younger (usually during my summer holidays). In addition, I used to be able to converse with Dutch people, with me talking in German and them answering in Dutch (yay for Dutch cousins!). Both languages however are very similar to German so I guess most German people would understand them without ever having learned them. For me, I can understand most written parts in those languages.
In addition, I learned Latin and classical Greek at school but I’ve probably forgotten most parts of those languages already.
As for French — that was a lie BWAHAHAHA. I still aspire to learn French, though. Many people in Germany can speak French since it’s usually the first foreign modern language you learn at school after English.

5. I…..don’t like animals. Not even those super cute puppies with super big pop eyes (okay, maybe yes). I usually get super anxious and aggressive when some certain animals are around me (especially cats). It might be a Chinese thing. Or my animal hair allergy but being around animals usually has psychological and physical effects on me.

6. I like thunderstorms and thundershowers but only if I’m inside a house. I just love that safe feeling. (But it totally sucks if they result in power blackouts.)

7. I got stuck in an elevator. Three times.

And I’m nominating (yes, Yvo, I just totally copy past-ed your text passage):

It’s hard to find blogs that haven’t been nominated yet, so I decided to display a selection of awesome blogs by awesome people that are definitely worth visiting. Bring on the book love! In no particular order:

Hannah @ Indiereadergirl0329

Amy @ Read A Latte

Lee @ Betwixt The Sheets

Kiara @ Oh, Read It In A Day

Ellen @ Little Big Library

Ella @ The Filipina Booknote

Now, I know some of you nominated guys might not have the time at the moment or don’t even participate in blog awards at all, but that’s no biggie! I just wanted to share my love for your awesomeness!

And again, many thanks to Yvo and Lily!

11 thoughts on “The Very Inspiring Blogger Award (YAY!)

  1. Thanks so much for nominating me! I love your facts. Go Disney! I can’t believe you speak so many languages. Wow, I’m impressed. I will be linking mine soon within a day or so. 🙂

    • You’re most welcome! And thanks haha 🙂 You won’t actually believe it but in Germany it’s not that unusual to speak more than 3 languages. Or even in Europe.
      I’m looking forward to your post!

  2. Hahahaha “I…don’t like animals” so funny. And no one could ever hate you 🙂 ps. I can hardly speak English properly, your diverse language bank is makin me jealous.

    • Haha, to be honest, I was very uncertain about how to phrase the text passage without offending any animal lover (or even animals) so actually I’m really glad that you see the humour in the sentence 😀
      And thank you! I do have to admit though that I start to forget a lot of vocab in French and Mandarin since I hardly speak those languages anymore. Gradually of course, but still..
      And btw, I still don’t get it why so many of you English-speaking always say that you hardly speak English properly! I mean, because obviously, you don’t! (Wait, that sounds a little bit strange. But you do know what I mean, right? 😀 ) With Chinese and German-speaking people, it’s SO MUCH worse! 😀

  3. Interesting facts! I’m actually really impressed by your language skills but I guess many people have told you already 😀 And yay for Disney movies!

  4. You’re most welcome! 😀 I like Disney songs too. And wow, so many languages! I would love to be able to understand Manderin… I had Latin and ancient Greek in high school as well, although I remember dropping ancient Greek as soon as I could. Ich verstehe und spreche ein bisschen Deutsch… Although mostly passive knowledge, not enough to have fluent conversations. 😉

    • Haha, same goes with my Dutch although I have to admit.. Ik spreek geen Nederlands 😀
      And I agree, learning ancient Greek was sheer torture for me too!

      • Haha my Dutch is kinda crappy too after not speaking it for almost 4 years… 😉 And I hated ancient Greek, especially having to learn all that vocabulary which was way more difficult because of the different alphabet… Yuk! 😉

  5. Thank you for the nomination 🙂 and I laughed at the part where you were stuck in an elevator (sorry). Never been stuck in one but I did get stuck in a bathroom cubicle. sigh.

    • I know it’s hilarious! I didn’t freak out the first and second time I was stuck (I mean YOLO); on the third time however I could’ve peed myself because I watched Illuminati and The Ring on the day before. And do you know that YouTube video when a girl suddenly appears in an elevator? It’s so not funny to be stuck in an elevator when you’ve seen it! 😀
      Oh my gosh. A bathroom cubicle?? I would’ve gone mad!

speak your mind!

