review: sweet reckoning

SweetReckoning

 Title: Sweet Reckoning
 Author: Wendy Higgins
 Publisher: HarperTeen
 Series: #3 The Sweet Trilogy
 Pages: 464
 In a nutshell: The perfect conclusion to an awesome series!

 

It’s time. Evil is running rampant and sweet Anna Whitt is its target. Nobody knows when or how the Dukes will strike, but Anna and her Nephilim allies will do anything necessary to rid the earth of the demons and their oppressive ways.
The stakes are higher than ever, and Anna is determined that the love she feels will be her strength, not a liability. But trying to protect the ones she loves while running for her life and battling demonic forces proves to be perilous—especially as faces are changing and trust is fleeting. When the Duke of Lust sends Anna’s great love, Kaidan Rowe, to work against her, Anna must decide how much she’s prepared to risk.
In the most sensual and fast-paced installment yet, Sweet Reckoning brings all the beloved Neph together one last time to fight for their freedom.

Banner (2)

My thoughts

I’ve been dying to read Sweet Reckoning ever since I read the first two books of the Sweet Trilogy a few months back (and which I totally adored), so guess how excited I was when I could finally upload the book on my kindle (my hardback copy will not arrive until in a few weeks time…I guess it’s one of the downsides of being a German-based blogger)! I still can’t quite believe that Anna’s and Kaidan’s story is over. Anyways, I was kind of scared that Sweet Reckoning wouldn’t do justice to the awesomeness of the first two books….but man, I was so wrong.

The book starts right off after the events of Sweet Peril. Time is running and Anna and her Neph allies know that the final battle to rid the world of demons is imminent. Wendy Higgins enthralled me right from the start with the prologue. She knows how to foreshadow passages and how to create tension. We get to see the characters’ best sides and the book got progressively better from page to page.

Anna has been a great character to read. I love that she still has her heart at the right place ever since she’s been working for the Dukes; that she never loses her faith in each possible way throughout the book, even during the final confrontation with the Dukes. She also never lost that sense of purity in her and therefore, she’s anything but a disappointing character. She is definitely one of the most gorgeous friends, a great girlfriend and, in the end, also a dauntless fighter. It was amazing to follow her “progress” throughout the series: How she started as a naive 16-year-old girl, turning into a badass college student in the final book, facing the future with confidence although she knows that she might lose everything tomorrow.

Have I mentioned yet that I totally ship Anna and Kaidan? After all the events in the previous books  it was such a relief to finally see their mutual commitment to their relationship; how they try to spend every single moment they have together and enjoy their temporary lightheartedness. They definitely brought some of the best moments in the book. Together, they are so much better. Like invincible. The romance between these two was perfect; they are star-crossed lovers, but yet they are the perfect match. Eventually, it was heartbreaking to see how they both struggle with their hopeless situation when they realize that Kaidan might have to work against Anna.

Needless to say, Wendy Higgins’ writing is addictive and totally gripping. The plot never lacks any action or romance and I felt like whipping through the book in no time (which is actually kind of true, consindering that I read Sweet Reckoning within 4 hours, which is pretty fast for me. Yes, my mom was kind of mad when she found out I was still awake at 4 am).
I’ve also grown to totally adore the secondary characters. I fell so in love with them, especially with Anna’s Neph allies. Jay and Marna finally got their beautiful yet heartbreaking story (yes, I’ve been shipping them all along); it was poignant to see their love survive besides all the obstacles. But the other Neph characters such as Blake, Kope and Ginger never failed my expectations either. They definitely are NOT secondary characters. They are essential to the story and and together, they are one of the “cliques” you can’t forget just because they are amazing. They know that loyalty and solidarity are the only things that count in order to stand any chance against the Dukes.

By the end I finished reading Sweet Reckoning I was overwhelmed by the awesomeness of the book and I’m still not over the ending. It’s one of the hardest series to say goodbye to and I actually even had to shed some tears which rarely happens. I can’t wait to read future projects by Wendy Higgins.

5CC

3 thoughts on “review: sweet reckoning

  1. Pingback: stacking the shelves [4] | {Bookraptured}
    • Aww thanks! Yes, it’s definitely one of my fav series, you should definitely check it out! But then, I might be a bit biased 🙂

speak your mind!

