review: poison princess

PoisonPrincessTitle: Poison Princess
Author: Kresley Cole
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Series: #1 The Arcana Chronicles
My opinion: Definitely. A. Must. Read!
In a nutshell: A brilliant and unique post-apocalyptic story.
She could save the world—or destroy it.

Sixteen year old Evangeline “Evie” Greene leads a charmed life, until she begins experiencing horrifying hallucinations. When an apocalyptic event decimates her Louisiana hometown, Evie realizes her hallucinations were actually visions of the future—and they’re still happening. Fighting for her life and desperate for answers, she must turn to her wrong-side-of-the-bayou classmate: Jack Deveaux.

But she can’t do either alone.

With his mile-long rap sheet, wicked grin, and bad attitude, Jack is like no boy Evie has ever known. Even though he once scorned her and everything she represented, he agrees to protect Evie on her quest. She knows she can’t totally depend on Jack. If he ever cast that wicked grin her way, could she possibly resist him?

Who can Evie trust?

As Jack and Evie race to find the source of her visions, they meet others who have gotten the same call. An ancient prophesy is being played out, and Evie is not the only one with special powers. A group of twenty-two teens has been chosen to reenact the ultimate battle between good and evil. But it’s not always clear who is on which side…

I don’t know how to write this review without sounding too sentimental. Because Kresley Cole is definitely an amazing story-teller due to her unique style of writing. When I first heard about Poison Princess, I was like ‘yeah. A girl with hallucinations. Again. Like in thousands of other paranormal books.’ See, no big expectations. But I gave PP a try though because I loooved the cover of this book. And I do can tell you already: I fell for Jack as hard as Evie did.
The book is divided into 3 time sections: (1) Time before the apocalypse, (2)  time after the apocalyse, in which Cole makes Evie tell her story before the apocalypse (i.e. (1)) and (3) time before Evie tells her story, but which is still set after the apocalypse (got it?). All 3 storylines are neatly interlinked.
Evie is 16 years old, rich, spoiled and – apart from “sitting nicely” and “looking pretty” good for nothing. Until she suddenly starts getting visions/hallucinations on the apocalypse which later turn out to be real. The apocalypse by itself is only described as a sudden “flash”, and kaboom — the majority of the population is dead.
This idea really intrigued me: How come that Evie had her hallucinations? Will she survive and if so, how? And how will she mentally withstand the whole situation ?Empress
The answer to those questions was pretty mind-blowing: Tarot-Cards: 22 Major Arcana Cards that are literally personified by 22 teenagers and thus, have special abilites. The Fool, the Magician, the Moon, the Death – they all have one aim and one purpose that will ultimately result in unmitigated and absolute devastation. They literally play off against each other.
And Evie’s purpose? She’s supposed to be the Empress. I really understood her despair, her fears and anxieties, her mistakes because – she has the power either to save the world and humanity or to destroy everything. And despite all this things or rather BECAUSE she is such a broken and misunderstood girl I found myself miraculously  connected to her character. Because she’s only SIXTEEN and already has to bear so much responsibility. Which teenage girl wouldn’t feel the same in this age, misunderstood and helpless?

Kresley Cole knows how to create a world full of mysteries because “Arcana means secret!“.  Each chapter contains a new surprising twist. You’ll even find zombies in this book! But I also liked the way Kresley weaved more serious topics such as rape and autism into “Poison Princess” on the QT. There’s nothing else I can say except I so so so adore Kresley Cole’s writing!

And then, there is Jack. I’m gonna tell you, he’s my new book crush, oh Jackson Deveaux! He is the Bad Boy. He is strong. A player. Criminal. He flirts in French *___* . He is thoughtful. Dutiful. Loyal. He is always there for Evie when she needs him. He is the person that Evie needs.

Okay, I’ll stop right now before I become too girly.
Oh, wait, there actually is a point of criticism. The cliffhanger at the end of the book. Nowadays it is kind of a mainstream to write trilogies and something. But seriously, why do publishers use cliff hangers as a means to make readers buy the next book? Ehm, I mean, WTH? What for if the book itself is good enough?

And let me tell you, the book cover is almost perfect. The cover really creates and captures the somber and mysterious atmosphere in the book, especially with the “firewall” in the background. And on the backcover of the book you can see Jackson with his motorbike…….*-*

Oh, and Evie & Jackson in the foreground…….WOW! The golden letters and “adornments” are so pretty! It is only …I dunno, but I think the model depicting Jackson is a little bit too old. Hence the “almost” perfect.

Poison Princess is totally different from other books in the YA genre. Kresley Cole succeeds in creating a emotion-charged and “visually stunning” world with so many new (fantasy) elements. She knows how to tell a good story without getting lost in the plot and all the topics or slowing the pace. Most of all, the authenticity of the story (when it comes to utter chaos and survival) and the adorable-ness of the main characters are simply outstanding.

5CC

a must read!

2 thoughts on “review: poison princess

  1. Ahh, another one to add to my TBR list! I’m not exactly sure of the time sections you mentioned; maybe it’ll be easier if I just read it XD Evie sounds like a character who goes through lots of character development. And your description of Jack is soooo swoon-worthy (especially the French part, omg!).

    I’ve been reluctant to try reading books that mention tarot cards because the concept of it sounded so complicated, but it seems pretty clear-cut in this novel 😀 I think your last paragraph sold it for me!

    • omg I feel like the worst person on earth in replying to comments o.O

      Haha, sorry for the confusion, this review was actually one of the first ones I’d ever written and my writing style was clearly lacking some…transparency 😀
      You just HAVE TO read Poison Princess to understand the amazing-ness of the plot, it’s one of those books I wished I had written myself 😀 I wasn’t particularly drawn to the book’s theme either at first cuz I thought Poison Princess was just another lame and wannabe paranormal read but the tarot cards concept really sold me.
      And omg Jack is the best *__*

speak your mind!

